Mauthausen

Organisation

The Mauthausen Memorial today is an international site of remembrance and political-historical education. Here, the memory of the victims is being preserved, the history of the Mauthausen Concentration Camp and its sub-camps is being researched and documented, and through exhibitions and educational programmes its visitors are empowered to deal with and discuss the history of concentration camps.

From 1938 to 1945, the Mauthausen Concentration Camp was pivot to a system of more than 40 sub-camps, and the central site of political, social and racial persecution by the NS regime on the Austrian territory. Of a total of 190,000 persons held prisoners here, at least 90,000 were eventually killed.

The Mauthausen Memorial aims at raising awareness for any resurgence of National Socialist activities, anti-Semitism, racism, discrimination of minorities and antidemocratic tendencies. Furthermore, it is supposed to contribute to preserving public knowledge and memory of National Socialist mass crimes committed at the former Mauthausen and Gusen concentration camps, and at all its sub-camps. The Mauthausen Memorial regards itself as a place of remembrance and education, with human rights education through live teaching of history being among its central tasks. It promotes the teaching of history, communicates its significance for present and future times and aims at pointing out comparable present day developments, tendencies and processes.

The Mauthausen Memorial is a Federal Institution under Public Law and is financed by the Ministry of the Interior.

Team

Managment Team

Barbara Glück
Director

Jochen Wollner
Commercial Manager

Gudrun Blohberger
Educational Manager

 
Educational Manager Gudrun Blohberger, Director Barbara Glück, Commercial Manager Jochen Wollner,
 (photo credits: Mauthausen Memorial / markushechenberger.net)


KZ-Gedenkstätte Mauthausen / Mauthausen Memorial
Erinnerungsstraße 1
4310 Mauthausen
Tel: +43 7238 2269-0

The management, as well as the collections and the specialist library of the federal institution KZ-Gedenkstätte Mauthausen / Mauthausen Memorial are located at Argentinierstraße 13, Top 103+104, 1040 Vienna

Tel: +43 1 376 3000-100
E-Mail: office@mauthausen-memorial.org

 

For information and inquiries, please contact us via e-mail:

Education:
Registration of group and individual visits as well as visits of relatives, general enquiries about visiting opportunities: education@mauthausen-memorial.org

Communications and Events:
Filming and interview requests, general enquiries: info@mauthausen-memorial.org

Search for persons:
Information on former concentrationcamp prisoners: search@mauthausen-memorial.org

Collections:
Artifacts, library, photography, oral history and documents: collections@mauthausen-memorial.org

Research Center:
General historical information and research at perpetrators: inquiries@mauthausen-memorial.org

Room of Names:
Transmission of biographies, photographs, obituaries: gedenkbuch@mauthausen-memorial.org


Exhibitions

Christian Dürr
+43 1 376 3000-113
christian.duerr@mauthausen-memorial.org

Robert Vorberg (currently on paternal leave)
+43 1 376 3000-124
robert.vorberg@mauthausen-memorial.org

Nathalie Patricia Soursos
+43 1 376 3000-126
nathalie.soursos@mauthausen-memorial.org

Laura Langeder
+43 1 376 3000-124
laura.langeder@mauthausen-memorial.org


Collections

Ralf Lechner (Head)
+43 1 376 3000-110
ralf.lechner@mauthausen-memorial.org

Doris Warlitsch
+43 1 376 3000-111
doris.warlitsch@mauthausen-memorial.org

Nathalie Patricia Soursos
+43 1 376 3000-126
nathalie.soursos@mauthausen-memorial.org

René Bienert
+43 1 376 3000-130
rene.bienert@mauthausen-memorial.org

Florian Guschl
+43 1 376 3000-126
florian.guschl@mauthausen-memorial.org

Yvonne Burger
yvonne.burger@mauthausen-memorial.org
 

Specialist Library

Peter Egger
+43 1 376 3000-112
peter.egger@mauthausen-memorial.org


Research Center

Gregor Holzinger (Head)
+43 1 376 3000-116
gregor.holzinger@mauthausen-memorial.org

Elisa Frei 
+43 1 376 3000-114
elisa.frei@mauthausen-memorial.org

Stephanie Kaiser
+43 1 376 3000-127
stephanie.kaiser@mauthausen-memorial.org

Katharina Kniefacz
+43 1 376 3000-115
katharina.kniefacz@mauthausen-memorial.org

Andreas Salmhofer
+43 1 376 3000-125
andreas.salmhofer@mauthausen-memorial.org


Education

Email: education@mauthausen-memorial.org

Gudrun Blohberger (Head)
+43 7238 2269-29
gudrun.blohberger@mauthausen-memorial.org

Christian Angerer (via _erinnern.at_ delegated by the Federal Ministry of Education, Science and Research)
+43 7238 2269-34
christian.angerer@mauthausen-memorial.org

Bernhard Mühleder
+43 7238 2269-22
bernhard.muehleder@mauthausen-memorial.org

Frauke Umdasch (Booking Service)
+43 7238 2269-35
education@mauthausen-memorial.org

Rupert Pilsl
+43 7238 2269-23
education@mauthausen-memorial.org

Julia Tiefenbacher (General Inquiries)
+43 7238 2269-10
education@mauthausen-memorial.org


Commemorative Department

Stephan Matyus (Head)
+43 1 376 3000-117
stephan.matyus@mauthausen-memorial.org

Ute Bauer-Wassmann
+43 1 376 3000-118
ute.bauer-wassmann@mauthausen-memorial.org

Melk Memorial

Christian Rabl (Coordination)
christian.rabl@mauthausen-memorial.org

Wolfgang Fehrerberger (Education)
wolfgang.fehrerberger@mauthausen-memorial.org


Communications & Events

General email: info@mauthausen-memorial.org

Valerie Seufert (Head)
+43 1 376 3000-106
valerie.seufert@mauthausen-memorial.org

Julius Sevcik
+43 7238 2269-54
julius.sevcik@mauthausen-memorial.org


Board of Trustees 2022–2026

Chair

Mathias Vogl, Federal Ministry of the Interior

Members 

Jakob Calice, OeAD-GmbH — Agentur für Bildung und Internationalisierung (Austria's Agency for Education and Internationalisation)
Hermann Dikowitsch, Provincial Government of Lower Austria
Guy Dockendorf, International Mauthausen Committee 
Paul Frey, KHM-Museumsverband
Magdalena Mandl, Federal Ministry of Finance
Antonio Martino, Federal Chancellery
Willi Mernyi, Mauthausen Committee Austria
Stephan Mlczoch (Stv. Vorsitz), Federal Ministry of the Interior
Margot Nazzal, Provincial Government of Upper Austria
Alexander Palma, Federal Ministry of Labour and Economy
Eckehard Quin, Public Service Union Austria (GÖD)
Barbara Stelzl-Marx, University of Graz
Dr. Michael Haider, Federal Ministry for European and Foreign Affairs
Michael Hampel, Mauthausen Memorial

International Advisory Board Mauthausen

Chair

Wolfgang Paul, Ambassador (ret.)

Mitglieder

The International Advisory Board Mauthausen includes the following representatives:

  1. one representative from the Comité International de Mauthausen,
  2. one representative each from the States whose citizens were victims of the crimes committed at the Mauthausen und Gusen concentration camps and at all sub-camps, upon written request by those States and upon decision by the Board of Trustees in agreement with the General Manager,
  3. one representative from the Austrian Mauthausen Committee,
  4. one representative each from the founding institutions of the Austrian Mauthausen Committee: the Austrian Trade Union Federation, the Austrian Bishops Conference and the Jewish Religious Community - Federal Association of Jewish Religious Communities in Austria,
  5. one representative from the Federation of Social Democratic Freedom Fighters, Victims of Fascism and Active Antifascists,
  6. one representative from the Austrian People’s Party’s Fellowship of Politically Persecuted Persons and Persons with Austrian Conviction,
  7. one representative from the Concentration Camp Association/ Federal Association of Austrian Antifascists, Resistance Fighters and Victims of Fascism,
  8. one representative from the Austrian Camp Community Mauthausen,
  9. one representative from the Cultural Association of Austrian Roma People,
  10. one representative from the Homosexual Initiative Vienna,
  11. one representative from Jehovah’s Witnesses in Austria,
  12. one representative from the evangelical High Consistories (Lutheran and Reformed Church),
  13. one representative from the Islamic Religious Community in Austria,
  14. one representative from the Orthodox Bishops Conference,
  15. one representative from the Future Fund of the Republic of Austria,
  16. one representative from the National Fund of the Republic of Austria for Victims of National Socialism,
  17. one representative from the Regional Government of Lower Austria,
  18. one representative from the Vienna Municipal Senate,
  19. one representative from the Awareness Region Mauthausen,
  20. one representative from the Federal Chamber of Labour,
  21. one representative from the Austrian Economic Chamber,
  22. one representative from the Federation of Austrian Industries,
  23. one representative from the Presidential Conference of Agricultural Chambers of Austria,
  24. one representative from the Austrian Council of Senior Citizens and
  25. one representative from the Federal Youth Association.

Scientific Advisory Board Mauthausen

Chair

Bertrand Perz, University of Vienna – Institute of Contemporary History

Members

Eva Blimlinger, Member of the Austrian National Council
Deborah Hartmann, House of the Wannsee Conference – memorial and educational site
Monika Kokalj Kočevar, National Museum of Contemporary History Slovenia
Léontine Meijer-van Mensch, State Ethnographic Collections of Saxony (SES), Dresden State Art Collections
Astrid Messerschmidt, University of Wuppertal – Department of Education
Noa Mkayton, Director Overseas Education and Training Departments, International School for Holocaust Studies,Yad Vashem
Nikolaus Wachsmann, Birkbeck, University of London – Department of History, Classics and Archaeology